Random Question #42

What is the biggest thing you have ever given up on?

4 Responses to Random Question #42

  1. Wes says:

    I’m on the verge of giving up pursuing a faculty position.

  2. Robb says:

    ^^ And why is that?

  3. Aruni says:

    Myself. I rally and give up on myself in long and short cycles depending on what’s going on in my life.

  4. Robb says:

    ^^ I think that is what it is all about. That’s why (I think) it is hard to give up on something – you are not giving up on the thing itself, you are giving up on your ability to make that thing happen. Sometimes you give up on something because it is not important enough to you to devote that energy anymore, sometimes you just change your mind or discover a better alternative. Other times you just give up for a while, you just put a goal on the shelf knowing you will revisit it later when you are better able to devote the energy it requires.

    But sometimes… sometimes you are really truly giving up on yourself.

    Good thing yourself never gives up on you.

Leave a comment