Bit the Bullet

After days of agonizing I finally uploaded Psycho Ex (it has a new title) to zoetrope.com for peer review.

I don’t know why I still feel like the thing isn’t done – it’s currently on its third round of readers and responses have been positive. It’s as if there’s some threshold I still haven’t crossed, but I don’t know what it is.

The script will be up for 30 days and due to the way the site/community is designed it should get 4 or 5 reviews. We’ll see how it goes.

Next stop after that: agent queries, contests, and inktip.

5 Responses to Bit the Bullet

  1. ashleyfmiller says:

    Good luck. I just joined zoetrope myself. I’ll try to get to your script as soon as I get past the first four reviews that’ll let me access it.

  2. Robb says:

    Thanks Ashley – I see your script right there above mine. Good luck to you as well. I’ve had good experiences with zoetrope (both reading and submitting) – I think you’ll like it.

  3. Robb says:

    12 days, 6 downloads, 1 opt-out, zero reviews. Frustrating…

  4. ashleyfmiller says:

    Ask for logline help on the discussion board, that sent eyeballs my way. And I thought the title was “Psycho Ex” which would have been more eyeball grabbing than the current title, which I think is pretty bland. To me, it reads like a lifetime movie title with a tinkling of bells and glowy font writing itself across the screen.

    I’m going to try to read it, though it won’t be in the next few days. But yeah, reviews seem to be about 1 in 10 reads. Which sucks. I’ve gotten more reviews than you so far, but everyone has been almost the minimum length and about the grammar, not the story.

  5. Robb says:

    Yeah, the title has been a placeholder for a while – I like “Psycho Ex” but it doesn’t really fit the tone of the script. For this purpose it might’ve been better to leave it. Thanks for the other info.

    I’ve used zoetrope before, but it was years ago. The response rate seemed to be much better then…

Leave a Reply

