Random Question #34

What is your all-time favorite book?

5 Responses to Random Question #34

  1. Gigi says:

    the little prince by antoine saint de exupery

  2. Robin Mizell says:

    Gigi’s choice is excellent. I like Colette’s The Vagabond.

  3. Tammy B. says:

    I have no such thing as one all time favorite book. My favorite is always the last one I read that is worth telling someone else about. The latest addition to the shelf of my life is The Shack, one guy’s vision of what it would be like to spend a weekend in the flesh with God, JC and the Holy Spirit. God is not the gray-bearded old man in a white robe some might expect. It’s tragic, hopeful, condemning, emotional, introspective, relational. I am especially fond of this one.

  4. Kristen says:

    The book that’s blown my mind most recently is “Fooled by Randomness” by Nassim Nicholas Taleb. He’s an NYU philosophy prof and also a trader on Wall Street.

    This quote sums it well:
    “I’m not saying that everything is random, but that we often see causality where there may be none.”

    Two liberating points I got out of it: 1) there is so much random stuff, there’s no need to even try to control it all, and 2) I’m/we’re not making this strange stuff happen; it just does.

    I have his sequel too, The Black Swan, which I’ll start after I finish Prometheus Rising.

  5. Wes says:

    Brave New World.

Leave a Reply

