Quote of the Day

I woke up this morning with this dialog going around and around in my head. Classic movie lines.

BERNSTEIN
You’re pretty young, Mr. –
    (remembers the name)
Mr. Thompson.  A fellow will remember things you wouldn’t think he’d remember. You take me.  One day, back in 1896, I was crossing over to Jersey on a ferry and as we pulled out, there was another ferry pulling in –
    (slowly)
– and on it, there was a girl waiting to get off.  A white dress she had on – and she was carrying a white parasol – and I only saw her for one second and she didn’t see me at all – but I’ll bet a month hasn’t gone by since that I haven’t thought of that girl.
    (triumphantly)
See what I mean?

– Herman J. Mankiewicz & Orson Welles, “Citizen Kane,” 1942

Since the time I first saw this film, I’ll bet a month hasn’t gone by since that I haven’t thought of that dialog. Just brilliant.

Leave a Reply

