Random Question #3

Can people change?

6 Responses to Random Question #3

  1. Robb says:

    I’ll take that as a “No.”

    I’ll put it out there and say that I believe that “No, people cannot change.” Not really. Because if they do change, sooner or later they will inevitably “change back.” When I think about it, I have unknowingly written a few screenplays where this is exactly what happens.

    I’m not sure if this belief makes me a negative person.

  2. Kristen says:

    Yes, but they have to really *want* to change, and work at it, because it literally hurts the brain:

    http://www.emergencemarketing.com/archives/2006/06/neurosientists_find_chang.php

  3. Roxane says:

    No. My dime store psychology says that “even when you make the effort for purposeful change, you will always be rembered by yourself and others for who or what you’ve done in the past.” The core of you will always know what you are capable of and when push comes to shove the default inner reflex will kick in. This being said, I firmly believe that when you feel that the toolbox of life coping skills that you were handed in the beginning needs some upgrades, that it’s important to seek those out. This can have a positive effect on how you evolve as a human being. However, I do believe that negative change to a one’s personality can evolve over time due to life experiences. A person can become more jaded and negative depending on how they emotionally record their life experiences. That being said, your question was “Can people change?” Not can people make purposeful change? The later part of my answer was in reference to evolutionary change. So, I don’t know whether it’s relevant to your question.

    That’s my extremely wordy thought on . . . . I’m sorry, what was the question?

  4. Robb says:

    Roxane – you and I shop at the exact same dime store.

  5. Wes says:

    If I had the answer to that question, the last couple of days would be much clearer…

Leave a Reply

